I just got a “CEASE AND DESEASE” order by another braindead person thinking that WordPress, or “WORLD PRESS” as the email says, has anything to do with sites that run it. (The reference to “WORLD PRESS” means he must have known about my plans for world domination.) The most interesting of these was when I was contacted by the FBI about a fugitive on the run that had a WP blog under an alias. ¶
Possibly related posts:
- SxSW Pool Team There’s going to be a pool (billiards) competition at SxSW...
- BuddyPress for the World Happy to announce that BuddyPress is now available to the...
- My WordPress Tattoo – Baker’s Hours Ed Morita writes about his new permanent WordPress tattoo. I...
- PollDaddy Goes Automattic It’s another exciting day here at Automattic. Today we finally...
- Sun, Oracle, WordPress, and MySQL It’s magically beautiful outside in San Francisco today, but instead...

If Else | May 13th, 2005 @ 12:26 pm |
I love the way that they will go out of their way to send a threatening letter but not do some basic fact checking or even run it through a spellcheck (CEASE AND DESEASE? Is that half way between desist and disease?)
Rob Mientjes | May 13th, 2005 @ 12:45 pm |
Haha! That’s awesome. Phu is very right. It’s painful to see the lack of effort put into making it a convincing thing.
Rob Cottingham | May 13th, 2005 @ 12:48 pm |
Matt, I beg you… post the whole thing. If the rest of it’s as good as these little excerpts, we’re talking comedy gold.
MacManX | May 13th, 2005 @ 12:49 pm |
I still remember this one guy on the support forums who wanted us (as in the active forum members) to shut down a spammer who also kept a WordPress blog.
zoogies | May 13th, 2005 @ 1:53 pm |
I’m pretty sure ‘desease’ is a common bastardization of ‘decease,’ or “to not cease” in this case.
michel v | May 13th, 2005 @ 2:49 pm |
Or it’s Cease And Disease, as in “Stop! Oh, yeah, and A POX ON YOU!”
Rick Beckman | May 13th, 2005 @ 3:30 pm |
It’s not just Wordpress either… The phpBB Group gets complaints and reports concerning those who are using their software often. I wonder if Microsoft ever gets contacted because a suspect is found to be using Windows…
Carla | May 13th, 2005 @ 5:06 pm |
So. Many. Jokes. So. Little. Time.
Robert Accettura | May 13th, 2005 @ 6:32 pm |
If you haven’t seen this already, I’m sure you’ll find it interesting:
http://gallery.menalto.com/modules.php?op=modload&name=News&file=article&sid=157&mode=thread&order=0&thold=0
Ric | May 14th, 2005 @ 3:09 am |
I actually have received quite a few of these about “stolen content” and other illegal activity just because I owned WordPress.Com . It seems the offended parties can review the website, see the WordPress icon and then just send off a threatening letter. This is like Bill Gates getting called cuz someone plagiarized in their college thesis using MS Word.
Hopefully these dummies will leave me alone one the domain is transferred to you. I know you are busy, but PLEASE contact me about this ASAP.
Matty | May 14th, 2005 @ 6:43 am |
Can’t beat a good ole fashion cease and disist letter.
Pingback: lyle e dodge » Blog Archive » Ahh…it feels nice
Simon | May 16th, 2005 @ 3:34 am |
Please post the whole email.
Rust | May 16th, 2005 @ 10:25 am |
I agree, please post the entire letter